Winter Weather

I’ve heard crazy things from friends all over the country about the intense winter weather they’re having right now.  Be safe in your running, friends!  I woke up to 40mph winds and a hail storm so I’m back on the treadmill.  6 mile hill run, taking the hills at 8.5 mph for the 6% incline.  It’s funny to do a hill run on the treadmill because my treadmill has no downhill so I’m either running uphill or plateauing, there’s really no relief.  The hills felt really difficult but it seemed like a reasonable pace to run them but then I found this link.

It’s not entirely accurate, but I definitely felt more like I was pushing 6:00 pace than running at comfortably hard (for me right now) pace and I realized I totally forgot to take into account the effort of uphill running and just kind of set the treadmill and went on auto-pilot.  Oops.  So much for an easy hill run.

 

I’m trying to eat better so last night I started my meal plan with this crazy looking vegetable

Image

It’s a celery root.  It doesn’t look as crazy when I finish cooking it.

Image

I added some quinoa and cajun chicken and that was that.  Filling and yummy 🙂 

 

And if you’re wondering where I got the idea to make celery root, well I didn’t exactly.  Joe and I get vegetables delivered every week from a CSA-type organization and we get 8 vegetables in each box to last us the week.  We get a whole heap of potatoes as one of the veggies each week, hence the potato leek soup (leeks were also in there!).  I have a really hard time eating vegetables, especially anything besides broccoli so we signed up for this last January and it has been great.  I have discovered some vegetables I never thought I’d eat much less enjoy and celery root is definitely one of our favorites now. 

My other trick for getting more veggies in?  I buy spinach and puree it, then fill ice cube trays with it and transfer the cubes to a giant ziploc bag.  Then, when I want to make a smoothie, I just drop a few cubes of spinach ice in there instead of normal ice cubes.  Easy extra serving of veggies!  Spinach and other greens go bad SO quickly and I have trouble finishing off a large container of it but this way it stays good and I just repeat the process whenever I run out of cubes 🙂

Image

Not very appetizing in appearance but it works.

Image

Gratuitous puppies playing in snow photo!

 

 

What’s your favorite veggie?

What is the weather like where you live right now?

 

11 thoughts on “Winter Weather

  1. 18 inches of snow for me! Ugh I need to move south. My mom makes celery root all the time. I’m not really interested in trying it (picky eater status) but she raves about it so it’s probably good to normal eaters! I stick to green beans 😉

  2. I’ve never had celery root – I’ll have to add that to my list of things to try! My favorite veggie is turnip, with broccoli coming in a close second.

  3. I tried celery root through a CSA share a couple years ago! It was interesting. :] My favorite veggies are broccoli, sweet potatoes, and red peppers.

    • I have my eye on a treadmill for home (currently use one at the gym) that actually can go downhill but sadly that’s still a year or two away. It would be fantastic to actually have that option though!

      I used to watch my sister-in-law do that with baby food 😉

  4. I love to sauté squash, zucchini, red pepper, and onion together. It is so simple and delicious.

    We are having super cold (for us) weather here in Alabama. Our high is in the 30’s for the weekend and earlier in the week it is supposed to stay in the 20’s! These will be the lowest temps we have had here in over 10 years. I am a major cold weather wuss and am not looking forward to it at all. I don’t even think I have the right type of clothes to dress for this weather.

  5. Wow, I’ve never tried Celery root…..it looks quite interesting! I bet it tasted good though. I’m saying this based on the ‘cooked’ photo you shared. 🙂

    My favourite is a tie between broccoli and carrots. We eat both pretty much every day.

    I’m totally stealing that spinach idea 😉

Leave a Reply

