A little bit of news

So yesterday was a very unplanned rest day for running, boo 😦  I have been having soreness in my posterior tibial tendon for about a week now and I thought it best to take a day completely off to help it heal.  Woke up this morning and it feels fine.  I’m going to continue with all the stretches and exercises for it but I think it should be fine, it just needed a day off.  But yesterday was also day 1 of something else…you know how I was having problems finding a way to stay motivated to strength train?  Well, enter Insanity.

Image

I did just the Fit Test yesterday which only took a few minutes but I’m officially scared about the workouts.  I won’t be doing the “cardio recovery” ones but replacing those with easy runs.  Sunday is a rest day on the calendar and coincides with long run days.  I’ll be doing only short runs on the plyometric workout days so as to not overload my legs, but those only come 1-2x per week.  I think and hope that this will really improve my strength while it is still winter and before we get to full-on race season.  Plus it is cardio+strength combined and a lot of body weight moves so I shouldn’t be as bored…as least that’s the logic.  Wish me luck, today is plyo day and I’m going to need it.  This is a running blog so I won’t be talking much about insanity but I’ll do one recap a week where I mention the workouts I think.  Unless people are especially interested and think I should recap them along with my runs each day. 

 

Today: 4 easy miles followed by the 45 minutes of plyo.  My legs are going to be SORE tomorrow 🙂

 

So, yesterday being a rest day, we took the opportunity to go to the grocery store and pick up a bunch of things with the free hour I should’ve been running.  Obviously, I couldn’t say no to doughnuts:

Image

 

But don’t worry, I balanced it out with these beauties:

Image

 

I then proceeded to eat all the olives.  They were SO good.  I have half a mind to go back today and get another giant tub. 

 

And I have a bit of fun news!  I was asked to write a guest post for the website Literally, Darling with a selection of my favorite running music.  I listen to country on my easy runs (it keeps my pace relaxed if that makes any sense) but for any faster pace runs, I love pop and hard rock and rap, the only rule is that it has to be “bouncy.”  You’ll see what I mean if you listen to the songs, I like very upbeat songs and it’s SO hard for me to find ones I like in new music that comes out.  In fact, I’ve had the same songs on my playlist for years for the most part.  Most of my running songs are old: Britney Spears, late 90s rap, girl pop groups, etc.  I look up other running playlists and they are songs that are technically uptempo but the singing is slow, if that makes sense, like Katy Perry’s “Roar.”  So I was excited to share my silly list, even if it reveals that my taste is not only very random, but often 15 years old.  Yes, I still listen to Nelly on my ipod. 

Here is the link: http://www.literallydarling.com/blog/2014/01/13/songs-to-run-to/

 

Do you have any upbeat running song suggestions? I’m desperate!

Favorite kind of olive?

What is your favorite kind of music to run to? Or do you prefer silence?

12 thoughts on “A little bit of news

  1. That’s super exciting to do a guest post! I’m going to check it out 🙂

    I did Insanity for a bit a few years ago! It works. I had to stop though….as orders by my physio. 😦 I’m prone to shin splints and the jumping was escalating the pain. He said “Insanity will = no marathon,” !!!! I was out! LOL. I have friends who love it though. I think you’ll see results, and quick.

    • I’m a little nervous about the jumping too but I did plyo workouts while running a few years ago while running and it was okay. I’ll modify if I need to but I’m hoping this will keep me motivated and give me those quick results you speak of 😉

  2. I am actually pretty excited to read your reviews on insanity, since I need to get more x-training in. Let me know how it goes!
    Hate olives, but my husband loves them. When I do use music, some of my favorite songs to run to are Eye of
    The Tiger, lots of Britney Spears songs, I’m Bringing Sexy Back, and LOTS of 80’s music.

  3. Too bad you had to take an unplanned rest from running, but you did one of the things I like to do when that happens to me – focus on exercises that I can do instead. I like listening to nature, music and books when I run. Hope you’re running again soon!

  4. Insanity looks insane! I actually don’t like olives. Weird! I know. My running music is really eclectic. Everything from rock and pop to swing and showtunes. I like music that either gets me pumped up or makes me smile.

Leave a Reply

