Fact (not) Friday

I was going to post this Friday but then Friday was all super busy and Fact Sunday sounds ridiculous.  But I did 10 miles this morning and was obviously dehydrated because I have a post-run headache so rather than come up with something new and save this for next Friday, I’m going to post it today. 

First, though, a little roundup of the first week of Insanity: I’m skipping the cardio recovery days in the program, but doing the rest.  I like the Plyo workout the best, even if it makes my butt hurt like crazy for the next 2 days.  In general, it’s hard without being so hard that I need to take extra breaks and it’s definitely working on areas I need to improve strength-wise, so I think it’s a good fit for getting me into strength training and making me stronger before my spring races.  I’ll definitely update you all with actual statistics on how much I’ve improved when I reach the end of the 60 days.

 

So 5 more random facts about me!

1.  I’m known to some as a picky eater, mostly because I have certain foods I’ll never touch (hotdogs, mushrooms, formerly Chinese and burgers though now I eat those sometimes).  BUT, I’m also a relatively adventurous eater.  Some of the “unique” foods I’ve eaten are alligator, kangaroo (in Australia), bear (in Estonia), wild boar, emu, kudu (in South Africa) and ox.  I bet you’re wondering how these things taste… kangaroo stew was excellent, our kudu was prepared by an amazing chef (hi Ian, you’re the best) and was SO FREAKING GOOD, and fried alligator is awesome but also a lot like popcorn chicken.  Those were my favorites, emu is by far my least favorite and I couldn’t even finish it.

 

2.  I’m a HUGE soccer fan and even though I’m American, because the best soccer is European (duh), I grew up watching the EPL and Italian soccer on the weird channels and have considered myself a Liverpool fan since I was about 7 years old.  I converted my husband to the cause when we met (and lucky him, his first season as a fan saw us win the Champions League, which is the biggest deal ever).  If you ever wondered why our youngest pup, a girl, is named Stevie, it’s because we named her after this superhero:

Image

He’s the captain of both Liverpool and England and his name is Steven Gerrard, but they call him Stevie G, which is now the name of our little girl.  Our backup name if she didn’t look like a Stevie?  Carragher.  We would have called her Carra for short.  He was a central defender for Liverpool his entire career.

 

3. I have an irrational fear of sharks.  What is irrational about fearing a terrifyingly large creature that can kill you, you ask?  Well, I’m so convinced they want to eat me that I don’t get in water I can’t see through…including lakes and rivers.  Yes, I know there are no sharks in lakes.  But because I’m a genius, I’ve watched every episode of River Monsters and now I know that fish want to kill me too so I’m sorry, there’s just no way I’m getting there.  Clear bodies of water as can be seen in Jamaica and Hawaii only, and very close to shore. 

 

4. Stevie isn’t the only dog with a name that wasn’t just pulled out of a hat of “dog-sounding” names.  Our 7 year old is Slider and I get asked all the time where that comes from.  Despite one or two guesses that he was named after the baseball pitch (ha, no, I hate baseball), a shocking number of people between 25-40 guess this correctly.  Any thoughts, fellow 80s movie lovers? 

Image

I’ve seen this movie WAYYYYY too many times.  Love it love it love it.  Slider is the name of Iceman’s co-pilot.  He’s most famous for this scene:

Image

Slider is our little co-pilot in life.  We were going to name our next dog Goose if it was a boy so they would be named after both co-pilots in the movie.  We’re still saving both Goose and Maverick for future pups.  Not sure Iceman is ever gunna happen 😉 

 

5. I love France.  I fell in love with it the first time I went at age 15 and studied abroad there in college in a tiny town in the Alps (I love Paris to death but I’m soooo not a city girl, I couldn’t have spent extended time living in one).  When it came to picking a wedding location, we knew it would be France.  We had an amazing wedding in rural France and spent 10 days there between the lead-up and the wedding before going on our honeymoon.  Best. Decision. Ever.  Here are some pictures I took in the week before the wedding:

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

 

 

Pet owners: Why did you choose your pet’s name?

Tell me one random fact about you!

12 thoughts on “Fact (not) Friday

  1. You’re so lucky that you’ve gotten to go to so many places! I absolutely love France too, but I also LOVE Switzerland, so it’s a toss-up between the two. My husband and I still have so many places on our bucket list that we want to visit: London, Australia, and Rome, all being a few.
    We naked one of our bassets Bogart after JP’s father passed away. He had always wanted a male Basset named Beauregard, so we named him in his honor.

  2. I am so jealous of your traveling experiences! We named our pups names that we probably would’ve named our children. Now I have no idea what we will name our kids when we have them, because in my opinion, our dogs have the best people names ever (except for Scotty. I hate his name but we got him as an adult and didn’t want to confuse him by changing it. If we would’ve changed it, we were going to call him Scout).

    I also don’t swim in oceans or lakes, but I don’t care if they are clear or not. I have a major fish phobia and have nightmares about swimming with them and them touching me.

    • I love your dogs’ names, especially the dachshunds 🙂 I’m sure you’ll find something equally awesome when the time comes! we have kid names all picked out but luckily we don’t have the same taste in kid names and dog names so we won’t run in to your predicament 😉

  3. I named my dog Lola after the song “Copa Cabana” 🙂
    Random fact: Every time I type the word ‘girl’ it comes out ‘gril’ at first…….super annoying! LOL

    • I’m now picturing the episode of Friends where Rachel sings that in the puffy pink dress 🙂 do you love the song or did you just love the name when you heard the song one day? And that’s a great random fact! I’m a perennial victim of autocorrect fails 😦

  4. This was a lot of fun to read… I like posts with random facts/confessions/etc. in them- you learn a lot about the writer.

    Ben and I are talking about a trip to Europe and France was mentioned 😀

  5. Your France photos are beautiful! I would have picked that town for my special day too. Did you get married in one of those castles?? My dog Toothless got his name from the movie How to Train your Dragon. The black dragon’s name is Toothless and they train him like a dog. It’s super awkward but believe it or not, it fits him well 🙂

Leave a Reply

