A little advice from my friends?

So I pretty much completely forgot that I have to read an academic monograph and write a review for publication and it’s due in a few weeks.  Oops.  At least I remembered today and not the day before, right?  Right.  So I’m working on that.

 

Yesterday was a nice sunny day and I did 7 miles with the middle 4 at tempo.  My shin muscles are a little sore today which is bizarre but it’s not pain, just a little bit of soreness.  I’m doing 5 miles today and then Insanity upper body. 

Yesterday’s run followed by my favorite lunch:

Image

I got English muffins to put them on because I haven’t baked bread in a few weeks.  I thought I was being fancy but really, the homemade bread tastes much better so when these muffins are gone, back to the same old habits.

 

And I promise this isn’t all I ate for dinner but the soup and chicken was entirely uneventful.

Image

If you can believe it, this was my very first time trying butternut squash.  I’m very unadventurous when it comes to vegetables, I’m just sure I’m going to hate everything that isn’t broccoli basically.  I was wrong, this is delicious.  Or at least, when you make it with olive oil, rosemary, and parmigiano, it’s delicious.  I’m going to be making it again later this week. 

 

And I had nothing better to do last night (seriously…Scandal, please come back) so I took another stupid quiz.

Image

a) Ridiculously obvious I was going to get her.  b) You’re correct quiz master, it’s so not my fault that I’m always right 😉

Back to running for a second:  I’m feeling a bit weird in my legs lately and I’d like to replace a day or two of running each week with biking for 6 weeks or so while I work on extra strength training and then switch back to running for my next training cycle in March.  For anyone with a lot of experience, how does this work?  How do I replace say 10 miles a week of running with biking (aka how much bike mileage should I put in to replace 10-15 miles of running)?  I know it will be good for me as cross-training but how will it work when I transition back, will I suffer from the 10 miles less running when I try to increase my running load in the next training cycle?  How does it translate to running fitness/speed and am I better off trying to run more and bike less when I feel able?  I’d love to hear from some of you ex-college runners or you super fast higher mileage gals because my end goal is higher mileage as the year goes on. 

 

Who would you be in the Harry Potter series?

Favorite kind of cross-training?

24 thoughts on “A little advice from my friends?

  1. I don’t have a lot of experience cross-training on a bike, but I know I’ve read somewhere that using bike riding as a form of cross-training 3x a week will help you maintain your fitness, but it’s not going to help you improve your running, because you don’t us as much of your body.
    My favorite form of cross-training (which I can’t currently do unless I join a gym with a pool) is swimming, because it’s even more of a total body workout than running and helps me pace myself better. It’s the only form of cardio cross-training that I’ve found truly helps me improve my running.

  2. I’m probably a little biased in saying that I think I’d be hermione too. I’m not much of a biker but the couple times I’ve tried it I’ve really enjoyed the new challenge of it. If you’re trying to replace the long run with biking maybe focus more on the time rather than distance. Tagged you in a recent blog post btw 🙂

    • Definitely can’t replace a long run but thinking about exchanging one or two bike rides for two of my shorter runs each week, just not sure how it will impact my higher mileage plans that start in march/april so I’m feeling out some advice 😉

  3. The key with the bike is to make sure you are hitting 90PRM. That mimics the leg turn over of running and ensures you aren’t just grinding through on a tough gear. Biking is obviously quite a bit easier on the body so you could easy double your running mileage….just be careful not to jump in too fast and create a different kind of overuse injury 🙂

      • I wanted to do lightweight crew in college but they said I was too small before letting me try. They basically let me do some land workouts and then when it came time to go on the water (even though I kept up with everyone) they wanted me to just be a coxswain…

  4. You’re not alone, friend! I’ve never tried butternut squash, which is weird because I love all veggies. I’ll have to give them a whirl because parmesan + rosemary can do no wrong. As far as running to biking cardio equivalences, my hubby the triathlete has always stuck to the 1:3 rule. You have to bike 3x the mileage to replicate running. So if you want to drop down from running 10 miles a week, increase your biking to 30 miles. Hope that’s helpful. Good for you cross training. It will only make you a better runner.

    • Perfect! Thank you, the ratio thing is what I was worried about. I think I’m going to drop from ~50 mpw to ~40 for a few weeks but do ~30 of biking and see how I feel with my running after about 6 weeks of that!

    • Haha it’s SUPER easy, it takes like 5 minutes the night before and 10 the next day, the rest of the time it’s in the oven while I shower. It’s so simple but so worth it. P.S. I hate ALL cross-training, this is a brand new venture 😉

  5. I too discovered butternut squash recently and I’m in love! Yes, an oil of some sort is essential. 🙂 As for your biking/running dilemma… could you go by RPE? I mean, 30 minutes HARD on the bike could easily take the place of an hour of steady state cardio. I think replacing 2 days for only six weeks would not set you back much at all. Sometimes rest and something completely different is what our bodies need.

    • Is it weird that I’m not trying to rest really? I’m trying to keep improving on the running, I just don’t want to increase my mileage too quickly so I’d rather hold back for a few weeks and try to increase mileage other ways, but only if it helps me. Everything I’ve seen is about biking “maintaining” my fitness when I’d like to improve, even if it’s not in my cardio but in my length strength or my turnover or whatnot, I’m just trying to be overly cautious yet still get faster or stronger if that makes any sense at all (it probably doesn’t…pipe dream).

      P.S….favorite squash preparation? I bought another one and I’m willing to experiment!

      • I am boring, I just slice it up, toss it in oil, rosemary, and salt, and bake it in the oven. 🙂 I have seen recipes w/ cinnamon, which seems like it would be good! I hope you figure out the bike thing! I’m sure you will get a lot of good suggestions. 🙂

  6. I totally hope that I would get Hermione – she’s the best! They say that the conversion is about 2 bike miles to 1 running mile but biking is actually a lot different than running. Whenever I’ve run into injury problems and can’t run I usually replace my runs with a little elliptical and a LOT of aqua jogging and swimming.

    • Hermione is totally the best! You have all that college running experience and I’m totally self-coached so anything you’ve got would be helpful. I’m not injured, I just only came back into running a few months ago so I don’t want to up my mileage too quickly after so much time off and was thinking of “raising my mileage” through biking, i.e. keeping my road miles steady or removing one shorter run and adding extra biking to compensate and supplement, so total I’d be doing like 40-45 running and 20-30 biking for around 6 weeks until I feel it’s safer to start building road miles again. Any thoughts? Is it less helpful to bike when not injured and I should stick to trying to increase road miles? I’m potentially being far too careful but I missed YEARS and want the fastest but safest way back to fitness. Any input you’ve got would be super appreciated you little speed demon 🙂

  7. I am obsessed with these quizzes and take them every time I see a new one pop up. I got Draco Malfoy, which I laughed out loud about, because it is probably more true than I would like to admit 🙂

    • Haha my husband got Malfoy. Also on the Pottermore sorting quiz (google it and take if you haven’t!) he got 99% Slytherin. Hahaha. Except it’s so totally him it’s insane. Which I don’t know what that says about who I married…. 😉

  8. I like Biking in the trails during the Summer months. But not on the street…hell no! I’d be road kill for sure with my stellar biking skills…LOL. I also took that Disney princess quiz you posted a while ago when one of my friends shared the link. I got Aurora..lol. I don’t know who I’d be on Harry Potter???

Leave a Reply

