I found something magical

If you read my blog then you know I don’t have trouble getting enough calories or carbs or struggle with treating myself to pizza, ice cream, or any other delicious foods.  But I definitely struggle with getting enough veggies.  I’ve talked about the veggie box I have delivered, but even that only forces me to make veggies once a day.  So my day is literally carbs for breakfast, carbs and protein for lunch, carbs, protein, and veggie for dinner.  Maybe even 2 veggies for dinner if I’m feeling frisky.  Basically, I don’t get anywhere near enough of my 5 a day.  I also don’t get enough protein, which is why I drink protein shakes after hard workouts.  And because I’m in love with dessert, I have cookies and cream flavored protein shakes for afternoon workouts and coffee flavored for morning ones.  It definitely helps me get enough, but I heard a while ago about Vega One, which provides protein, half of your daily required nutrients and vitamins (bye bye multivitamin!), and multiple servings of veggies in each shake.  Lucky me, my friend RunEmz sent me some to test out!  PSA: If you have instagram and you don’t follow her (@RunEmz), you should.  She’s a total badass (just finished 3rd in a 100 mile ultra!) and does most of her training on a treadmill.  She’s just beyond awesome. 

Image

Let’s get first impressions out of the way.  I have been very curious to try this but figured I’d be most likely to enjoy Vanilla or Natural because I could easily mix them with strong tasting ingredients like banana and peanut butter or berries if I needed to mask a very green flavor.  I pretty much thought this would go one of two ways: a) I’d hate it and the green taste would be overwhelming and disgusting and I couldn’t choke it down (I’ve had this from just standard protein shakes in the past so not a stretch) or b) It would taste too plant-like but be bearable so if I mixed it with tastier stuff, it could be a go-to shake and I would order some to help my veggie intake.  There’s a reason I don’t eat enough veggies and it’s because I can’t stand the taste of most of them so a plant-based shake is just a scary proposition.

I mean, how could it not taste gross when you look at the ingredients:

Image

Emz sent me the vanilla chai flavor to try and I will be very honest, I do not like chai as a general flavor, I don’t order it at Starbucks and I just think the spice level is too much when I want some dumb coffee or tea so I was downright terrified opening the packet. 

Image

I opened it and stuck my face in and smelled the powder, obviously.  Not a good start, let me tell you.  But, I wanted an honest opinion so I blended it with nothing but water and sucked it up for my first sip.  It was good.  Not in the “good enough to keep going” way, like actually good.  I drank the whole thing with no need to add anything to my shake.  Honestly?  I’m completely shocked.  I had mentally prepared to hate it since I learned about it, I was just planning to tough it out because I’m so desperately in need of nutrients.  Chai still isn’t my thing, but I’m absolutely going to buy a tub of the vanilla.  If you can make a flavor I don’t even like taste delicious and keep me healthier, I’m sold. 

 

I feel a little awkward writing a review and wasn’t necessarily planning on it but I looked everywhere for them when I started thinking about VegaOne and it seemed like all the opinions were from super healthy people or vegans (VegaOne is completely vegan) who didn’t struggle with picky eating or hatred of healthy food, in fact they just enjoyed having everything they ate be healthy and so they wanted their protein shakes the same.  Well, I was happy with my artificially-sweetened cookie dough shakes and couldn’t possibly imagine that they had the same opinion of cookies>veggies so I thought I’d put this out there for the rest of the picky eater club.  It truly is magical, something this healthy for you that tastes this freaking good.  I actually can’t wait until my vanilla comes in and I can start drinking it every day.  Maybe being a little more on top of my fruit and veggie intake will improve my running 🙂

 

Speaking of running, intervals today.  Doing a ladder set of 400-800-1200-1600-1200-800-400 with 1.5 mile warm up and 1.5 mile cooldown.  I sort of love this workout 🙂  Bring on the pain!

 

Do you drink protein shakes? What kind?

How many of your 5 a day do you typically get?

 

18 thoughts on “I found something magical

  1. I LOVE Run EMZ! I do follow her in IG and always do a double take at her TM pics of distance….this girl runs 20 milers like no big deal. And Hello! 100 miles?!?!? 3x! :0 Rockstar.

    I drink protein shakes as well for my lack of Fruit and Veg intake. :S
    Good luck with your workout today! I’m hoping to post tonight 🙂

  2. nice review! I’m considering getting some protein powder in the near future and I will definitely consider this one. I usually do pretty well getting in my veggies but most certainly could benefit from an extra dose or two.

  3. Thanks for reminding me, I wanted to check out Run Emz’ website, lol. And I’ll have to see if I can find one of those drinks around here! I also have the same problem of not being able get as many veggies in as I do proteins or carbs…

    • Definitely at least try it, I tried a greens powder in the past to get my daily servings in but it was so nasty. If you need extra veggies, doing it in a shake is a pretty easy way 🙂

  4. I got really into Pumpkin protein for a while because it doesn’t really taste like anything and I can hide it in smoothies. But Vega products are great, I especially love their protein bars. Have you ever tried cauliflower pizza? It’s super tasty and if you load it up with veggies it helps with the daily vegetable quota.

    • I’m scared of it because I hate cauliflower. I would totally give it a try if a friend made some but I’ have always been nervous to do all the prep and make it myself and not want more than one bite 😦 I’ve never heard of pumpkin protein! That sounds awesome. I love putting pumpkin in stuff, I love it in chili 🙂

    • Haha yeah I’m working on it but that just means I went from 1 serving a week to 1 serving a day, still not great. My other protein literally tastes like a cookie dough milkshake which probably isn’t the greatest thing for me but for the last year at least it means I don’t have trouble wanting to get my protein in 😉 dessert FIEND!

  5. Emz isss the best! Vanilla chai vega is one of my fav’s for sure. I can’t stomach a whole packet/scoop of ANY protein so I only ever use half but it’s delicious and especially when you blend it with a banana and eat it out of a bowl like ice cream 😀

      • Not a big fan of the straight vanilla… for that flavor I definitely miss whey protein, but i can’t digest lactose no mo’ 😦 Boooooo.

  6. Ahhh thank you for reviewing!! I’ve seen so many runners talk about Vega, but like you, I was a little skeptical. It’s kind of like when I tell my boyfriend a veggie dish is really good and he immediately looks for someone else to ask for their opinion lol. Love EMZ and so jealous you’re friends with her 😉

  7. I use this GNC Total Lean powder and I know it’s absolute garbage. I don’t dare look at the ingredient list. Ignorance is bliss 🙂 That said, I’m giving it up after I finish this tub. Thanks for the review! I’m on the hunt for something new and will check this stuff out.

  8. I drink protein shakes more in the summer than anything. I barely drink them during the school year because I either go right from the gym to work, or there is not enough time to make one at home. But in those lazy summer days, I love a cold protein shake after a run! I think I get 3 of my 5-a-day. I have veggies (more than 1 serving) ALWAYS for lunch, and usually for dinner.

Leave a Reply

