Just relieved it’s over

Thanks so much to everyone who wished me luck yesterday!  It went as well as it could have I think.  They asked some really tough questions but I didn’t feel unprepared to answer any of them, it just comes down to whether they liked my answers and whether they think I should move forward based on how my progress compares to the people who have been successful in the program in the past.  A little stressful (or a lot…) but I won’t know if I passed for another 5ish weeks so I’m just putting it out of my mind until I hear for sure and working on other things in the meantime!  I cannot explain how necessary running is at this point, if I didn’t have those minutes to clear my head and get that nervous energy out, I think I’d go crazy. 

 

If you saw my instagram yesterday, you would know that literally 5 minutes after it was over, all I wanted was a cold beer.  It felt a little early for that but my husband promised me it was warranted 😉  So I had fried food and beer for lunch because obviously, that’s what was needed.

Image

Stayed in the cute little bar only for an hour or so but it definitely helped.

Image

 

Came home and played with the puppies and spent the rest of the day just hanging out.  Have you guys seen Broadchurch?  I’m super late to that party.  It’s a British show but they’re bringing it to the US this year and I heard good things so I thought I’d give the original a chance and I watched the first 4 episodes yesterday after my exam.  Very addicting and a lot like The Killing, which I enjoyed and was sad got cancelled this year.  Very very similar actually.  Don’t be surprised if I “accidentally” make it through the remaining 4 episodes today.  I told myself that this weekend I’d give myself permission to do nothing that I didn’t want to do after the stress of the last few weeks, so it’s pretty much going to be running and watching movies and eating and then I’ll get back on the horse on Monday. 

 

You know what else really works wonders when you need a little pick me up?  Enchiladas!

Image

Definitely helped 🙂 

 

I got woken up early by Stevie with a squeaky duck in my face.  You would think that when your puppy reaches nearly 2.5 years, they will no longer wake you up with squeaky toys in the middle of the night but my Stevie is somehow permanently stuck at 6 months old developmentally.  So I’m up and trying to entertain her and when she gets tired, I’m going out for an easy 4-5 miles.  Probably try to get in some strength training as well 🙂  Tomorrow I’ve got 14 on tap so I’ll be properly starving for all those Superbowl yummies. 

 

I must know…what are you having to eat during the Superbowl?

Favorite football team?  (they don’t have to be Broncos or Seahawks!)

14 thoughts on “Just relieved it’s over

  1. Aww, I know it’s obnoxious when you’re in a deep sleep and your dog wakes you up (happens to me like every other night), but it’s wicked cute that she had a squeaky toy! I keep all squeaky toys out of the bedroom for that reason. If the dogs wake me up it’s because they’re trying to jump on the bed or crawl all over me, lol. I’m craving guac so I’ll be making that for the Super Bowl. Not sure what team I’ll be cheering for – if the Patriots aren’t playing, I really don’t care…

    • She goes downstairs and gets her toys and brings them. And if you don’t play with the one she gives you, she just thinks it’s a problem with the toy and brings you different ones until one is successful. And my older dog can open doors and does it for her to let her out to fetch the toys. They’re like Bonnie and Clyde and big fat troublemakers 😉

  2. Lola slept on my belly last night when I passed out on the couch. Dogs.

    I need to learn how to make enchiladas! and clearly how to spell it….since I had to go up and reread your spelling..lol.

    I’m happy you were able to get through your big day yesterday. Fried food and beer are always super comforting. 🙂 We have a favourite little Irish pub down in the valley that we go to a few times a year. 🙂

    • They are so easy to make! Not like I’m a Mexican food expert or anything, but the way I make them is easy 😉 And sometimes you just need the extra smothering of salsa and cheese so they trump the tacos. I can’t believe I said anything trumps tacos. That’s a big fat lie 🙂

  3. Puppies and tv show marathons are the best way to unwind after a stressful week! I had a huge project at work this week and yesterday I just unwound with some old Grey’s Anatomy episodes and puppy snuggling! It’s just me and the the hubby for the Super Bowl so we’re keeping it simple with wings and nachos!

    • How did the project go? Puppy snuggles seem to cure all stress somehow! I think we are leaning the same way- dips, chips, nachos, and wings in small doses because it’s just us this year 🙂

      • The project was easy, just time consuming and stressful. I work at a church so we had to send out the year-end giving statements for tax purposes which means printing, folding, assembling, stuffing, sealing, and mailing 2,000+ envelopes! haha, definitely glad its over!

  4. Fried food is always the best reward.

    I have to work during the Super Bowl, but the only things I’m sad about missing are the commercials. I am not an NFL fan at all. College football is so much better (Roll Tide!)

    • College is WAYYYYYY better than pro. I watch pro just because I’m a football lover in general but unless my team is playing, I don’t really care about the outcome whereas when ANY team plays college, I have an opinion.

    • Haha I’m sure he’ll grow out of it! Our older dog was SUCH an insane puppy but grew out of all the craziness eventually. For some reason, it’s just not happening with the younger one and she’s exactly the same as when she was a baby, including the rude awakenings 😉

  5. I’ve never heard of Broadchurch but I looove The Killing and was also so sad when it was cancelled! I heard they are doing a new short season exclusively on Netflix though sometime in the future, I hope it happens.

  6. 5 weeks?! They take their sweet time getting results back to you, don’t they? I think even the DMV is faster than that 🙂 Congrats on getting it over with! I’m sure this weekend feels amazing already with that weight lifted off your shoulders. Woo Hoo!!

Leave a Reply

