Hills+Mud=Heaven

I mentioned yesterday that I love hill work, and especially repeats over a hilly steady run so yesterday was just a lot of fun for me.ย  A little muddy but as long as it’s outside, I’m good ๐Ÿ™‚

photo(44)

 

At one point I saw a park with some brand new workout equipment which was really neat.

photo(43)

So obviously after my run, I went to go attempt some pull-ups.ย  Attempt is the key word here.ย  Still can’t do even one unassisted.ย  Major goal.

And after a healthy dinner the night before, I was definitely ready for some tacos!

photo(42)

Sorry I didn’t make them all pretty.ย  My dad mailed me an article from the Washington Post with food photography tips…I think he’s telling me I need to up my game for you guys.ย  Oops.

 

Do you guys realize the Olympics starts in two days!?ย ย  Some of the things I’m most pumped for:

-Women’s bobsled.ย  GO LOLO!ย  I just think it’s amazing that she got knocked down twice in her most major career track events (fell down once, finished 4th and just out of the medals once) and has chosen to completely reinvent herself as a winter Olympian and has a real chance at a medal.ย  So cool.ย  Never give up.

-All the snowboarding.ย  I love snowboard cross (and ski cross) because it’s vicious and unpredictable.ย  And the halfpipe is just downright fun.ย  Shaun White always brings the most ridiculous tricks, I can’t wait.

-Shiffrin and the female skiers.ย  I seriously watch the Alpine Skiing world cup events every other weekend.ย  I love watching skiing.

-Figure Skating! Obviously.ย  I prefer the men but love both singles competitions.

-Biathlon.ย  Don’t ask me to explain this but I love it.ย  And I love love love that story of the girl who gave up her Olympic spot to her sister.ย  I truthfully don’t know that I would have ever done something like that.

 

Seriously, I love all the Olympic events (except maybe curling haha) so I’m dorkily (not a word) excited for the next couple weeks but these are the events I will absolutely 100% tune in for.ย  I’m actually super busy today and tomorrow getting a lot of reading done so I have more time to watch the Olympics next week.ย  Totally normal.

 

Are there any Olympic events you don’t like?ย 

What’s one exercise you’re not very good at or you’d like to improve at?ย  I can do a lot of push-ups but I seriously cannot do a pull-up to save my life.

32 thoughts on “Hills+Mud=Heaven

  1. Mud just makes a run feel more badass! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Now I need to make tacos again…lol.

    I love Lolo! I also want her abs, and her legs!!!
    Great job with your run ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I don’t want to sound like a downer, but although I usually LOVE the Olympics, I’m boycotting them this year, after finding out that the town (city?) of Sochi is rounding up all the stray dogs and euthanizing them (not even sure if this is how they’re doing it) so they can “look better” to the general public. I know this is probably pretty crappy news to be sharing, but as a dog lover myself, and knowing how much you love your fur babies, I just wanted to share this information with you. If I can find the article online I can send it to you. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    • I sadly saw this a few days ago and was thinking of doing the boycott as well but ultimately decided that it is not the fault of the athletes who worked their whole lives for this that the city was chosen as the host site. I want to honor their achievements, but I will definitely be boycotting all things Russia. It made me so very sad ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  3. I seriously need to get some hill work in…..Do you sprint up and jog back down? Is there a certain distance you’re looking for?

    I should probably read that article about food photography, because my pictures are pretty damn bad.

    • It depends on the day! I’ll add short 30 second hill sprints (6 or 8 maybe) to the end of easy runs (jog down and go again) but dedicated repeat days like yesterday are usually 2ish minutes on a steady 6-10% grade which is easily adaptable to the treadmill! In between reps, jog at easy pace for 1-2 mins on 1% ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. That playground looks like so much fun. I always want to get better at jumping rope, I’m better than I used to be but I’d love to be able to go for longer and do some cool variations.

  5. Pullups are a HUGE goal for me too! Why are they so freakin hard? lol! Ahh, the Olympics! I am so excited and I can watch anything except for the curling and the cross country skiing where they shoot targets ๐Ÿ™‚ My fave would probably be the skiing and figure skating as well!

  6. Wow that is some major exercise equipment for a park! We have some parks around here with like exercise courses, but they just have dumb little balance beams or something to hop over. Not actual equipment!! Do you ever use an assisted pull up machine??? That is how I was finally able to start doing unassisted pull ups. Also, I read somewhere that another way to train for them is if you have a bar, hop up on a chair and get in the “Up’ position and just hang there as long as possible… then slooooooowly lower yourself down. I used to do this too. It was/is agony!

    • I’ve done a bunch of assisted pull-ups with a bar in my house and went through the p90x program which has a TON of them and still couldn’t do one alone ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I am going to try to use the assisted machine at the gym where you can slowly decrease the amount of help you get until you’re doing it alone. Hopefully that helps!

  7. I love all of the Olympics.

    That workout equipment is so cool! Anything upper body I am totally weak at. I can’t do a single pull up and can only do a few “real” push ups if they aren’t the girly kind.

  8. Oh God, I have this client of mine who LOOOOOOVES curling! That’s the only thing he keeps on talking about on and on and on. He is so passionate about it! Haha! There are two exercises that I’d like to improve on big time: push ups & pull ups. Good luck to me ๐Ÿ˜€

    xoxo
    Olena

    PS. Do you know by any chance what shoes would be good for a mud run?

    • From what I’ve heard, the courses are SO muddy that trail shoes don’t make a huge difference and you pretty much trash the pair you use because of deep water, mud, etc so it’s best to use a well fitting pair (so it doesn’t get sucked off in thick mud) that you’re about to retire. So if you have a pair of running shoes with 400+ miles on them, I’d use those! I’m no expert though, just have a ton of friends who have done these races and that’s what they said to do ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Pullups are hard! I got up to 7 in a set one summer but I had to do them all the time to keep them. In my experience the ONLY way to get better at pullups is to…do pullups. Even if you can only pull yourself halfway up to the bar, just keep doing that and eventually you will be able to do a real one.
    I don’t watch the Olympics…something about watching other people exercise makes me feel like a big fat slug.
    The tacos look yummy!

  10. Haha I think I would hate running in the mud, just because I would only be thinking about how my shoes would be getting dirty. I’m SO FREAKING EXCITED for the Olympics too! Right now I cannot think of a sport I don’t like to watch, but I’m sure there’s at least one. “Fun” fact: A week before the summer Olympics (2008), our TV died. My dad freaked out and we went looking for a new TV on the same day (of the old one’s death) because he said he needed a TV to watch the Olympics haha.

Leave a Reply

