What a beautiful day

I hope you thought of the Chris Cagle song with that title.  No?  Yesterday was such a beautiful day.  Sunny and so much warmer than it’s been lately!  I was super pumped to run in shorts and a tshirt for the first time in forever and ever.  I probably shouldn’t have taken my pasty skin out in the sunlight without some sort of warning for anyone who happened to see me, I might blind them.

Image

I took the advice of most of you guys and went out planning to split the difference and run 10 miles.  It felt great but my usual loop is 6 miles and I poorly designed my 10 mile run so I hit 10 and was still 1.25 miles from home so I reached 11.25 but I like round numbers in my mileage so obviously I ran in circles on the soccer field until it reached 12.  Clearly, I wasn’t so great at following either plan, and once I hit 12 the temptation to go the full 14 was overwhelming but I was already home so I called it a day.  At least it was a decent length long run, and so much more enjoyable than the 2 hours I spent biking as my “long run” last week.  Thou shalt not take running for granted!

 

Dinner was whole wheat pasta with pesto sauce, which does NOT look pretty when photographed.

Image

So yummy though. 

 

Oh, and I read about this awesome thing the Canadians have going on at the Olympics.  I need one. 

 

Today is a rest day but I’m not going to take a full rest day because I took a couple for the broken toe so I will either do short and sweet 4 miles or go to the pool for some aquajogging.  I’m not sure why I’m tempted to hit the pool but it sounds oddly appealing today despite the long-ish drive to and from the pool.  Insanity also kicks back up today so I’m prepared to be experiencing major upper body soreness tomorrow from all the push-ups.  Is it weird that I’m excited for that?  I get far too restless when I take time off my normal schedule apparently.

 

What are you most looking forward to this week?

How far was your long run yesterday?

20 thoughts on “What a beautiful day

  1. You must have felt amazing logging 12 miles! Running around in circles and mis-calculating a loop doesn’t sound like anything I’d do for sure. 😉 My long run was basically a 90 min run at pace. I managed 11.2 miles. 🙂

  2. haha, I like how you went from 6 to 10 to 12 miles. I did insanity for a little bit a year or two ago and having you talk about it makes me miss me. Which is indeed kind of ridiculous because it’s such a painful workout.

    • Haha I know, I’m all over the place! I tried insanity a couple years ago and didn’t like it but weirdly this time it’s great. Not sure if it’s just where my head is or what, I’m actually in worse shape this time around but enjoying the workout so much.

  3. I’m glad you got your long run in and felt great! I didn’t end up logging a long run at all. 😦 My leg was hurting when I woke up in the morning and I was hoping I might be able to “walk it off” but it still hurt ALL day while I was walking on it (feels like shin splints) so I decided it was not a good idea to do a long run. Luckily it feels better today, so I’ll just have to get back on track starting with today.

  4. Your pasta dishes never fail to make me crave carbs lol! I am most looking forward to my hubby being on days off after tomorrow. He can take care of the dog because I find the baby and Sadie are a lot to handle some days by myself. Also, I’m hoping and praying for some mild weather! 🙂

    • Pesto is the absolute best. I’m so in love with it! Even when I’m far too lazy to do anything else fun with my pasta, it still tastes amazing and that it means it gets 10 million points in my book 🙂

  5. I’m anal about distance, too, so I understand the jogging around the soccer field. I have never aqua jogged, but I have seen people do it. If I am forced into the pool, I just end up swimming laps. I am dreeeeaming of not only a run, but a SHORTS and T-SHIRT run! Spring is coming…

Leave a Reply

