You know you spend too much time in your pjs when…

I’ve got some fun stuff for you guys this week!  Was working on it yesterday and I think we’re all set now.  Meanwhile…

No speedwork yesterday, keeping it easy this week before my next cycle of my training program starts Monday.  Push-ups and pull-ups and 6 easy miles followed by my favorite post-run meal:

Image

It’s just so good.  Expect me to have this for lunch every day this week.  This was dinner:

Image

Crabcakes are delicious.  They also remind me of home, we used to have them at brunch on Sundays after church when I was a kid.  Crabcakes and waffles…the new go-to combination. 

 

Oh, and I forgot to show you the deliciousness from the night before last!

ImageImage

I was really in the mood for a burger.  That second picture is me showing you that there is pulled pork on my burger too, not just my fries 😉  Pulled pork, blue cheese, and fried onions on the burger in case you were curious.

 

So I have this habit of wearing pjs to bed (obviously), waking up, eating, running, showering, and changing right back into sweats or pjs.  I know a lot of grad students do work in libraries and I just can’t.  I go and pick up what I need to last me a couple weeks, then sit at home to do all my reading and planning and eventually, write it all up into a (hopefully) coherent chapter.  So I’m home ALL THE TIME.  At home, I like to be comfy, so it’s running clothes or pjs.  You know you spend far too much time in pajamas when you wear a hole into the knee of your pajama pants instead of your jeans.

Image

A bit ridiculous. 

Today’s plan is a 5 mile run followed my a 20 mile stationary bike.  Let’s just pretend I’m excited about the biking part, maybe it’ll start to grow on me. 

 

Do you wear “real” clothes when you’re just hanging out at home?

What is your favorite go-to lunch?

31 thoughts on “You know you spend too much time in your pjs when…

  1. Push ups and pull ups are a killer! I’ve gotten into the habit of changing to comfy clothes/shoes the minute I get home, instead of staying in my work clothes like I did for years. To me that means sweat pants and shirts or sweatshirts, I have a shelf in my closet for “home” clothes.

  2. Crab cakes and waffles – um yes please! I make a cheesy egg & crab waffle thats to die for. You have to try combining the too. I’m almost always in pjs (well w/o clothes) since I’m home almost all day as well. However, i don’t think I’ve ever had a hole happen LOL.

  3. Haha, who doesn’t love spending their life in pj’s? Now that I’m home with Tate I tend to spend even more time in them. It’s a miracle if I’m showered and in regular clothes by 9am now lol. My go to take out lately (well, it started early in my pregnancy) is lebanese/mediterranean food i.e soulvaki wrap or a falafel plate. What exactly is with the avocado on your toast? It looks like a yummy combination!

    • I use creamed honey (sometimes called set honey!), a sprinkle of salt, then half an avocado over the two pieces of toast, poached eggs, and a sprinkle of garlic powder and chives on top of the eggs 🙂 it’s a whole process haha.

  4. I’m like you, unless I have to go out and interact with the world I’m living in pj’s or workout clothing. Sometimes I’ll even wear my workout clothing like a regular outfit, and I may have gone to a grocery store once or twice in pj’s…………..

    • I’ve done all of the above. It’s a huge deal when I wear real clothes, it happens like twice a month haha. Bonus though: I get lots of compliments because people are so used to seeing me either sweaty or freshly scrubbed and in pajamas.

  5. No way, PJs at home all the way! If I have time to change after I get home from work, I will even change into “nice” sweats when I teach piano lessons. Just to be comfy. 🙂

  6. So, basically we live the same life. ha. I stumbled across your blog and absolutely LOVE it. I was struck by our similarities, and this post solidifies it. Grad student, check. English major, check. PJ and exercise enthusiast, check. Although, I’m only working on my Masters (20th and 21st Century Literature) I do plan on trying for the big ol’ PhD. Good luck with your studies!

    • Glad you found me! Good luck with your masters and eventual PhD 🙂 I’ve taken a grand total of one class in my zillion years of schooling on 20th/21st century literature, funny how that can happen within the English degree isn’t it? Please tell me you’re a pizza enthusiast as well as a pj enthusiast 😉

  7. I love runny eggs on toast with avocado. The only thing you’re missing is hot sauce. I don’t know if I have a go-to meal. I like to keep things mixed up, and usually take leftovers from dinner. That is one of my go-to breakfasts though:-)

    I never ever wear jeans at home unless somebody is coming over, which rarely happens.

  8. Hahaha that’s talent right there! I don’t think I’ve ever worn a hole into my PJs! But I am totally there with you. If I’m home and not expecting people, it’s PJs or some form of workout clothing (yoga pants/sweats + something on top)

Leave a Reply

