Fact Friday #3

Yesterday’s run was super fun, for anyone that is interested.  I decided to do a 75 minute run where I ran hard for 2 songs and steady for 1 song, which equates to a fartlek run of roughly 7-9 minutes hard effort with roughly 3:30-4:30 steady effort in between each hard effort.  It was super fun and I ended up with ~40 minutes hard running so it was a great way to do some faster running but not be a slave to my watch.

 

Inspired by being home, I decided to do another Fact Friday and share some bits and pieces of me with you all again.

 

1.  Joe and I met 3 weeks beforehand, but we got our start in Honduras on spring break.  It’s a long story, but we had met through his best friend (also a good friend of mine) and had been hanging out nonstop so when he found out that the 4th person on a trip I was taking to Honduras in a couple weeks dropped out, he joined my friends and I.  He told me he had feelings for me on our first night there and we’ve been together ever since.  This is a photo from day 3.  I’m the blonde one 😉

honduras

2.  I was in a sorority!  I’m not what people typically think of with a sorority girl but the best thing about my sorority is that I didn’t feel they were typical either.  Sure, there were the standard barbie types but only a handful and in a house of 100 girls, I just didn’t interact with them as much as the girls I had more in common with.  Two of my favorite people in the world years later are my big and grandbig, who immediately claimed me when I joined the house as a freshman in their junior year.  One lives in NYC, the other in Chicago, and they are both some of the coolest people I have ever met.  These are from our trip to Chicago nearly 5 years ago:

chicago chicago2

In that first picture, I’m wearing 4 inch heels.  They’re both just super tall.

 

3. I’ve always had a bucket list and most of it is travel related but there are a few other things on there too.  I accomplished getting married outside, bungee jumping, and skydiving and I still need to touch a lion/tiger.  The craziest thing I ever had on there is riding a real live rodeo bull.  I’ve always wanted to do it and still do but Joe says I’m forbidden.  It’s probably wise and the older I get, the less likely that I’ll do it, but I really did look into it years ago and was within a few weeks of getting on one.

 

4. I lived in Philly for a few months and had the best roommate.  I met her accidentally, she replied to a post I had about a spare room in the 2 bedroom apartment I had found in Philly and turns out, she was living in Virginia at the time for an internship.  We met, loved each other, and did most things together for the few months I lived there.  She’s also the one who gave me pre-separated sour patch kids for my birthday.  I hated Philly and moved out of there years earlier than I thought but had the best time exploring and hanging out with Mallory.  I was disappointed in the teams that made it the year I lived there so we invented a game for the Super Bowl where you drink a shot every time the kicker has to kick a FG/kickoff.  We didn’t last 3 quarters 😉

 

5. There’s a really fun day my friend hosted in the past called Ultimate Hustler.  We have a big group of people and there are 12 events throughout the day including putt-putt, frisbee golf, knockout (basketball), bowling, foosball, darts, 8-ball, and more.  There are odds established in advance for each person’s chance at victory and before each event, you are required to bet some of your allotted monopoly money on the victor and another bet on two names that are randomly drawn out of a hat and who you think will be the victor of those two players.  The money you collect throughout the day based on your bets is the buy-in for the big finale…the poker tournament that caps the night.  So betting well throughout the day is essential if you want a decent stack.  Here’s the group from a few years ago:

hustler

I’m the only girl, I should be easy to spot.

 

 

Tell me something about you!!

36 thoughts on “Fact Friday #3

  1. I would never have guessed that you were part of a sorority! I think most people have major misconceptions about what sorority’s are like based on some poor movie choices. I know it’s probably crazy dangerous but you’d be my hero if you ever rode a rodeo bull 🙂

    • Skydiving in Florida where my buddy lived at the time, he was a competitive skydiver so I wanted to go with him. He’s on the right in the Honduras photo, we went the day before we joined the other 2 for the Honduras vacation! Bungee jumping was in New Zealand 🙂

  2. I LOVE that idea for a fun hard run. Ultimate Hustler sounds hilarious, competitive, and well-thought out. My college friends and I hosted a photo scavenger hunt each year called by the acrynym JARMSH: one guy created a 3 page list of photo opps that ranged in point value from one point (picture of your team with a walmart employee, picture of someone from your team swing dancing with a stranger) to more points (picture of your team with a live cow, picture of your team performing a disney scene in a public place). we divided into teams of 4 and had spent 3-4 hours on Saturday night driving around. SO FUN!

  3. Great idea for getting some speed work in! I need to try that. I hate checking my watch when doing speed work so I usually try and go to the track. I’ve been skydiving and loved it and will definitely do it again, but just the thought of bungee jumping scares me to death!! Meet me in South Africa next month and we can go pet some lions together! 🙂

    • Omg I would LOVE that. I was crushed that I didn’t get to do it while I was there. Plus South Africa is just my favorite ever so feel free to smuggle me in your suitcase 😉

  4. You are def. not a “sorority” sorority girl. Me either, but I wish I was part of yours! You girls were much cooler 🙂 Mine turned super Stepford once my class started holding positions. Yawn. We are looking for quick destination and Honduras is in the running. I might email you if that’s what we end up picking. It looks beautiful!

    • That is the best fact ever! And i definitely wouldn’t have predicted it. I actually became friends with a bunch of our school’s male cheerleaders the first week on campus after accidentally ending up at their house party haha.

  5. I am laughing so hard right now because I could have written everything you just said about being in a sorority. I was in one too and no one ever believes me because I am so not the sorority stereotype. 🙂

    • My campus definitely had plenty of the typical sororitiy girls but I think there are so many good ones out there and people don’t realize! Do you still keep in touch with some of your sorority friends too?

  6. Lol love this!!! The more I read your blog the more I discover how much of an adventure seeker you are! Never would have guessed you were in a sorority, but that’s also unfair of me to assume that and stereotype cause my BF’s sister was in a sorority and she doesn’t fit the typical mold as well. OMG Ultimate Hustler sounds amazing!!

  7. That sounds like an awesome run – I want to try it on the next treadmill run that is dragging! Loved learning more about you! I was in a sorority too and one of my favorite people in the world is my big sis!

Leave a Reply

