Doughnuts and (protein) pancakes!

One of the things I was most excited for coming home:

20140319_121157

My mom got all 6 of these for me, and another 6 for Joe.  Don’t worry, I couldn’t eat all of them.  It took me 4 days and I managed 5 but don’t want to see another doughnut for a while.  The coconut ones are my favorites.

Decent weather this weekend meant I got to take my run to the trails, which is where I always feel like my real runner self.

20140321_141058

I just want to run in the woods every day.

After my long run, I made red velvet protein pancakes to refuel.

20140323_105401

I don’t know if you’ve ever made protein pancakes, but I have tried dozens of times and they are always completely the wrong texture and/or taste weird.  Frankly, usually both.  I’ve tried ones on running/triathlon forums, bodybuilding.com, the Tone It Up girls’ recipes, and never ever like them.  This was basically my last ditch attempt to ever try to enjoy them AND IT WORKED.  It must be some kind of miracle.  I’m sure credit is due to the protein powder (for not tasting horrible) but also to the ratio of ingredients, because for once, they were crazy fluffy and while not entirely like real buttermilk pancakes, as close as I think protein pancakes are ever going to get.  Here’s what I did in case you want to try it yourself:

1/2 cup oat flour

1 scoop Red Velvet Cake Batter protein powder

1 tbsp baking powder

1/3 cup liquid egg whites

2 tbsp vanilla almond milk

1 tsp vanilla extract

Then just plop in the pan and make like normal pancakes!  They don’t break apart like others I’ve tried so they flip like normal pancakes, they just take longer to cook so leave them for several minutes on each side.  I’m thinking I might try this same recipe with my Peanut Butter Marshmallow or Cookies and Cream protein powder next time.

Favorite kind of doughnut?

Do you prefer trails, roads, sidewalks, grass, or treadmills?

Have you ever made protein pancakes?

44 thoughts on “Doughnuts and (protein) pancakes!

  1. Those doughnuts look really good and so do the pancakes! I haven’t seen liquid egg whites here but will try them with regular egg whites.
    Never ran trails… road (sidewalk) running is my thing these days, although I like and use the treadmill too.

    • I had a problem finding liquid egg whites when I lived in England, I don’t think they’re very popular outside of the US/Canada. But real egg whites will definitely work!

  2. Boston cream doughnut all the way! I know what you mean about protein pancakes, the protein powder usually makes them have a kind of odd texture. glad you found a recipe that works well, I’ll have to try it the next time I have protein powder in the house.

  3. I love sprinkle donuts, just like the two on the right side of your picture 🙂 I love trail running, sidewalk/road running are a close second. My least favorite is treadmill running, but sometimes it’s necessary. Never made protein pancakes, but I’m tempted to try!

    • Some days I even prefer treadmill to roads, I’m just not a big roads fan! Trails all the way but treadmill when needed. I don’t run on the roads more than once a week and only so my legs aren’t unprepared on race day. I love sprinkle doughnuts too, but I’m also a 5 year old at heart 😉

    • Haha I can’t imagine that was yummy. My first attempt at a protein shake in general put me off for years, just water and mix shaken in a cup and it was the grossest flavor ever.

  4. Ooo those pancakes sounds so good! What kind of protein powder did you use? I’ve made them before with one of the recipes that you mentioned and they just seemed really dry.

    I definitely prefer running on trails and I think my favorite doughnut is chocolate glazed.

    • I used Cellucor Red Velvet protein powder, I’m super picky about protein (so much of it is gross) and I think Musclepharm (cookies and cream!) and Cellucor make the best tasting ones. I love Vega too but it’s way too expensive to make pancakes with, Cellucor is relatively cheap 🙂 hope that helps!

  5. So many good things in this post. Those coconut donuts…I’ll be right over so save me one hahaha! The trail looks awesome, I think it looks so awesome to me because we’ve been covered in snow for the last, well, ever! We’re supposed to get a ridiculous amount of snow this Wednesday and I think I’m going to cry:(
    I love protein pancakes, I usually make mine with oats, eggs, vanilla and a mashed banana. Thanks for posting the red velvet recipe, I was going to ask for it anyway:)

    • That’s one of the recipes I had made in the past! They always fell apart on me but maybe turning the oats into oat flour helped with that. Or I’m just terrible at making pancakes 😉

      No more snow! We are supposed to get some tomorrow 😦 at least you can get a photo op with Tate in a snowsuit? 😉

  6. Donuts aren’t something I typically crave but my god those look good. And now I’m going to dream about donuts during Thermo. So thanks for that 😉

  7. YAY trails! I was out there yesterday too!
    I’ve never had protein pancakes, but I will eat anything red velvet related (with the exception of candles and bubble bath) so those sound delicious to me. I haven’t had a doughnut in forever, but my favorite are these home made ones that we sometimes get at the Amish market near my house.

    • I don’t get them often but after 2 years away from home and the only doughnuts I like, I was ready! An Amish market sounds like a blast, what other kinds of products do they have?

  8. Mmm those pancakes look great! I attempted to make chocolate protein pancakes last week. They tasted great but were super flat. I think it’s because I ran out of baking powder though. I love trails, but just don’t have many close by (the one close to my house is always flooded) I hate sidewalks which probably makes my neighbors hate me for always running in the road!

    • I understand completely, when we moved our new town only had one trail and it was flooded literally 90% of the time. I got very used to road running, but I love being near trails!

  9. Those pancakes look good, but I cannot change my banana walnut pancakes.
    My favorite doughnut is the apple and cinnamon one, they don’t sell in Spain. When my friends come I always ask them to bring me 6, they come here looking horrible, but taste like heaven would taste if it were food.
    Have a good week.

  10. OMG those pancakes! Where the heck do you get Red Velvet Protein Powder?!! Whaaaat? LOVE making protein pancakes. I don’t actually remember the last time I made regular pancakes because for some reason I feel like I can eat way more protein pancakes without the guilt (probably tripling the kcals though 😉 )

    Haha I don’t actually like doughnuts… *awkward silence as you glare at me (the typical response I get). I run on a paved trail- I prefer to run on the dirt trail (both paved and dirt are offered where I run), but snakes and lizards FREAK ME OUT. So I only run on the dirt during the cold months. Yes, I know I’m weird.

    • No glaring, I don’t like chocolate AT ALL so I get crazed looks all the time. I’m also not a cookie fan. You can, however, bring me ice cream cake any time.

      Cellucor makes Red Velvet protein and Musclepharm makes some great ones like banana cream (awesome in pancakes or oatmeal) and cookies and cream 🙂

      • LOL so glad I have another non-chocolate loving friend! We need to create our own stare to give back to those glaring weirdos 😉 OMG I’m going to have to go outside of my comfort zone and try some new protein powders 🙂

  11. yummmmm sprinkle donuts!! I’ve tried and failed so many times at making protein pancakes, so I’ll have to try this!
    and trails trails trails! though I usually run on the roads due to convenience and safety

  12. Favorite donuts are the sourdough or the ones that are covered in powder sugar and filled with frosting. (not boston cremes, the white sugar frosting <–dunkin donuts has them.) Basically when i eat donuts i want to put myself into a sugar coma.

    • There are sourdough doughnuts? I love all things sourdough but I’ve never heard of such a thing. Need. There are potato doughnuts in Charlottesville that are apparently amazing and are sold out every day by like 2 hours after the shop opens. I’m always tempted to drive down there just to get them haha.

  13. Awww, that one green tree looks lonely.
    I love running on trails. I like the road though because I can go much faster. I haven’t had a doughnut in years, but i used to love the raspberry filled.

    • It’s by Cellucor if you want that exact flavor, but I think it would be just as yummy with lots of other flavors! Cellucor is reasonably priced for protein though and can be found on all kinds of websites 🙂

    • I wouldn’t run on an empty trail alone either! Mine are really busy, always pass dozens of people 🙂 What we need is for me to live close so we can run your empty trails together, best of both worlds!

  14. Our local donut shop makes strawberry donuts and they have tiny little pieces of strawberries in them. They also do the same with blueberries. They are glazed but very lightly and are perfection.

    I can run anywhere, but prefer sidewalk, road, or trail. I hate the grass because it feels like I am in quick sand (and always am dodging stuff) and the treadmill is my fallback.

  15. I’m not a huge donut fan. I know……But if I had to I’d go for jam/jelly filled. Like everyone I hate the treadmill Ugh! The worst! Trails when I can but as long as I’m outside I’m pretty happy!

Leave a Reply

