Giveaway Winner and other random things

This pretty much encapsulates my feelings this morning:

photo(63)

Mostly because my run was HORRIBLE yesterday.  I woke up with legs so sore they felt like lead but it was 65 and sunny and perfect and today it’s supposed to thunderstorm so obviously, I decided my rest day could wait.  My legs hurt the entire way and I know I was going crazy slow.  I finish the 5 mile loop and look at my garmin and it says I’ve run 3.67 miles.  Right.  So I run the same 5 mile loop a lot and it always measures the same, it measured the same THE DAY BEFORE but I guess I lost satellite coverage somehow in the perfect cloudless sunshine?  Well, thanks to that, Mr. Garmin thinks I was running like 11:40 min/mile.  Obviously, I can calculate my real pace so no big deal, but I was just so cranky and wanted to go home and foam roll until I cried.  Today is a MUCH needed rest day so I can enjoy the glorious 80 degree weekend.

 

It sure was gorgeous though.  Despite the pain, I’m always happy to get out the door on a beautiful day and I know I would have regretted it if I would have skipped it.  A little muscle soreness never killed anyone 😉

20140410_120301_1 20140410_120258_1

 

Oh, and I totally forgot to let everyone know that obviously a winner was selected in the Pro Compression giveaway.  Don’t worry, I didn’t space completely, she has been informed and her contact info passed along to the company, I just completely forgot that in the mix-up with my scheduled posts not going up last week, y’all didn’t see who actually won.

photo(62)

 

Oh, and I was super proud of this for like 5 minutes yesterday:

photo

I felt like a badass.  Until Joe told me that velociraptors are basically glorified chickens.  They weighed like 30 pounds and had feathers and were maybe knee height.  I maintain I am a badass because the quiz specifies that I am the Jurassic Park form of velociraptor, not the actual historical species.  Just go along with it…

 

 

If you were a dinosaur, what would you be and why?

Is your weather getting hot where you live? We’re going to be in the 80s this weekend!

34 thoughts on “Giveaway Winner and other random things

  1. You’re so lucky it’s gonna be in the 80s where you live! It’s been in the high 50s here, should be in the 60s this weekend! I’m so glad/excited to be leaving to go to SC next week!

  2. I don’t think it’ll hit the 80’s but it’s definitely warming up where I am and I am so happy about it! That sucks that your run was so bad but that usually means a good one is on the way 🙂

  3. I need the link to this dinosaur quiz (and obviously I pronounce “dinosaur” with an old man southern drawl just like on the movie). Jurassic Park= top 10 best movies of all time.

    It has been in the 70s all week this week and glorious! Wish it would stay like this forever.

    • I don’t remember the address but I’m sure you can google it! This is totally the best weather, I’m going to be so sad when it’s in the 90s, we don’t get enough spring days 🙂

  4. Not exactly hot, but it’s definitely warming up. I think we should have 70’s tomorrow which is perfect in my opinion. Enjoy your rest day today! (I’m taking one too.)

    I would totally feel like a bad ass if I got Velociraptor. I want to be that dinosaur that spits acid like in the movie. I have no idea what they are called, but I loved how it was cute and little and then ruined that bad guy’s face.

  5. I imagine I would be the kind of dinosaurs that are running through the field from the T-Rex. No idea what kind that is. 🙂 It’s going to be very warm here too, but I’m going even further south this weekend so I think the high is 85!

    • I don’t think I’m ready for that kind of warmth yet after this winter, I need like a month of 70 but it looks like that isn’t going to happen. Are you traveling for a race or for vacation?

      • It’s for Colin’s half IM but I’m making him take me to the outlets for some shopping too. 🙂 it’s only 3 hours south of where we live so it’s not too bad of a drive.

  6. I’m glad you survived the GPS fail 🙂

    It’s finally getting warmer here – it’s going to be almost 80 this weekend… but then it’s going to be in the 30s again next week… madness!!

    • Ew, more cold? I’m going to be so sad if it drops to freezing again here. This weather was so sorely missed!

      Stupid garmin, that will teach me to rely on technology 😉 I knew I was taking it slow at like 830-9 pace but I think my eyes popped out of my head when it tried to tell me I was going slower than the first day I ever ran…don’t think so!

  7. I can relate to having to take advantage of the weather and having to go run even if it wasn’t your best day for it. Running with heavy legs is tough, but it makes you stronger too.. so there’s some benefit to it at least.

    • I just kept reminding myself that my legs didn’t even feel that awful at the end of my last marathon so if I could manage to finish on legs that sore, I’d know how to finish tough in any race scenario!

  8. Your run looked really nice – even if it felt crappy. We’ve had a week of mid-70s and sunshine. We are getting our grill out tonight! But the weekend looks a little cooler and cloudier.

    I’d like to think I’d be a badass T-rex but I think I’ll end up being one of those plodding giant vegetarian ones…….

  9. Sorry you had a bad run! When do you think the best time to foam roll is? Is there a best time? I never feel like I need it right after a run… it’s later in the day or after work that I feel tight and knotted up. I just wondered if you thought there is a certain time to do it other than when it feels like you need it?

    • I do it immediately after a run, I find it helps me not tighten up in the first place and I think my muscles might get more out of it when they’re warm and loose than when they’re tight/sore and cold hours later. This is all just in my own brain but it’s always worked for me. I think the reason I was so sore was because I did squats the day before and didn’t foam roll after!

  10. Pahaha I’ve heard the same thing about velociraptors, but I will always picture them as they are in Jurassic Park. So yeah, you’re a BAMF! If I were a dinosaur, I’d be a t-rex because I have a big head and little arms…can you picture it?? 🙂

    • I was very sad to find out they weren’t as tough as the movie made them seem but I’m definitely no dinosaur expert. At least I didn’t get TRex with his stubby arms 😉

  11. hey, i just found your blog and LOVE it! i always say that my baby is trying to be a velociraptor because of his high-pitches squeals. their sounds still haunt me to this day. *shiver*

    • I’m so glad you found me! I didn’t know either, gullible me assumed the movie depicted them at least CLOSE to accurately! I didn’t believe him when he told me but google quickly confirmed he was right 😦 haha

Leave a Reply

