I’m addicted

Yesterday’s 400s were ROUGH.  I don’t often do speed work that early in the day and something just wasn’t clicking, I felt like I had no energy from the warmup on.  But, I made it through and it really does feel fantastic to be done with a really hard workout before you do anything else that day.

Image

I also ate really healthily all day, which you probably don’t even believe is possible but I promise I do it a few times each week.  I always eat healthy breakfasts and lunches, it’s dinner where I add a little craziness sometimes, but for dinner last night I had salmon cakes with a light homemade lemon dill sauce, mixed vegetables (eggplant, cucumber, tomato, peppers, and onions), and couscous.  And avocado on top because it’s the best.

Image

I’ve had fish and veggies for dinner twice in the last 3 days so now I’m really ready to have something a little more fun tonight.  We are going to see X-Men later and will probably try a new restaurant while we’re out.  I’m a little excited.  I’m NOT excited that the movie is in 3D.  Am I the only one who hates that?  We got these early screening tickets so we didn’t have a choice but I never see 3D if I have the option, it’s been probably 4 years since I’ve seen one. 

 

I had another picture for you but my computer just won’t cooperate in loading it so I’ll give you a confession instead: Joe and I have fallen into the pit that is Breaking Bad addiction.  Neither of us had ever seen an episode and we thought the premise sounded weird when we first heard about it but we didn’t have any friends who watched it to change our opinions.  After all the fuss about the finale, we decided we were curious enough to watch one episode and see if it sucked.  Well, we finally got around to that on Monday night.  We certainly didn’t think it sucked, we stayed up until 1am the last 2 nights after I finished my work watching all 7 episodes from the first season.  Oops.  I usually make myself stop reading if I’m still researching when dinner rolls around so I can have a few hours to myself at night and give my brain a break.  For the next few weeks, those 2 or 3 hours at night will inevitably be dedicated to us being addicted to this show.  

 

Any shows you loved but were super late to the party in watching?

Favorite healthy dinner? fish and veggies is for me

What was the last movie you saw?

49 thoughts on “I’m addicted

  1. I always love your posts. Just a fun read and I always learn something new about you. I’m not a huge 3D fan either-I’ve never been. Also, your dinner looks scrumptious!! Wow!! Whether you eat pizza or veggies or other stuff, your meals are always very colorful and beautiful!! I love it!
    My husband and I became addicted to The Walking Dead. We started watching Season 1 after a couple seasons had gone by and we couldn’t stop watching it. We’d stay up late (which we never do) watching the episodes and it was fun!!

  2. LOL to Breaking Bad…. never watched it until one day I turned on the TV and some episode from their 1st season was playing. I didn’t even know what it was (yes, I’m that clueless) but it caught my attention and I was hooked). Lucky enough they were playing repeat episodes every night, so I DVR’ed the whole thing and watched it straight season after season.

  3. Oh my goodness, I did the exact same thing with Breaking Bad!!! My sister bet me I couldn’t watch just one episode and she was so right! I stayed up until after 2 a.m. when I was visiting her in Newfoundland watching the shows on my laptop. Matt was in total shock that I was into a show that revolved around a meth lab…lol. Great job on the 400s!!!!!

  4. I don’t really like watching movies in 3D either. For some reason it makes it hard to focus on the movie for me but I usually get used to it after 5-10 minutes.

    • It’s a little distracting at crucial moments (like fight scenes) which is even more annoying than the technology itself to me. I got used to it, I would just always rather pick 2D over 3D.

  5. Way to go on the early morning repeats!
    I’m really bad with getting addicted to shows. We binge watched the first two seasons of Homeland in a really short time! If you haven’t seen it, it’s awesome.

  6. Mmm that salmon cake sounds good! I had salmon for dinner too! There hasn’t been a series that we’ve really gotten in to the past couple of year. During college we loved The Office (when Steve Carrell was still on it) and watched several seasons over a few weeks to get caught up! 3D movies kind of give me a headache.

    • I had never seen the office back when Joe and I had first started dating and he made me watch the whole first season to catch up. It took me so long to get into it because of the weird format but once I did, I watched it until Steve Carrell left!

  7. I really don’t like the look of 3D movies – oddly the only time that I kinda like them is when it is for a cartoon!

    Also, Henri and I started watching Breaking Bad awhile ago and we got hooked! We were halfway through the last season when we moved and we still HAVEN’T FINISHED IT! We need to get on top of that!

  8. I rarely go to the movies…I think the last time I went was for “work” (over the summer we sometimes take the kids from my school out to do activities). I usually can’t sit through a whole movie or I fall asleep.
    I was a little late to start watching modern family. I would hear that everyone was talking about it but I never saw it until recently, and now it seems to be on all the time so we watch it when almost every night.
    My favorite healthy meal is salmon with a sweet potato and some sort of roasted veggie (usually broccoli)!

    • Broccoli is my favorite veggie! I have never seen an episode of modern family so I’m pretty late to that party too 😉 my parents absolutely love it though and I’ve heard good things!

  9. Rough workouts happen but way to push through and get the workout done. That dinner looked amazing. I still have not been to a 3d movie, I totally refuse lol. OMG breaking bad is one of the best series ever, totally did the saMe thing when I was catching up to the final couple seasons. Even though you will be sleep deprived you will not be disappointed.

    Last movie im sure was some Disney movie with the kids.

  10. No you’re not alone, I hate 3D movies. And I really dislike that all new movies, especially actions and kids films have to be in 3D. I get such a headache and I don’t find them that much better or more exciting. Good for you for doing your 400s!

  11. The last movie I saw was Wolf of Wall Street. Favorite healthy dinner lately is salad w/ ground turkey, blue cheese, and hard boiled eggs on top. We don’t have any ground turkey left though so now I feel lost…

  12. I love couscous! I just bought a box at the grocery store the other day and it has nuts + currents in it! It’s bad though because I nearly finish off the box myself. Can you say carb overload?! I was a little late to the game with Homeland, but let me tell you, I caught up within like 2 weeks 😉 😉

  13. Speed workouts are tough – but feel so good when you get ’em done. We were let on the Breaking Bad bandwagon but loved the whole series – it was consistently good and a really satisfying ending. I started watching Scandal a couple of months ago and just saw that Season 3 was added to Netflix. Woohoo!

  14. I’m glad to hear I’m not the only one. I remember seeing on twitter or instagram or something that you were running 400’s the same day I was…and I felt awful because my 400’s were the worst! I wanted to quit after 1, which is unusual. I was able to force myself to at least get to 4, but it was a mess. I was wondering if it was what I had been eating. Last week I ate salmon each day, and this week I hadn’t. But then again, there’s a lot of other factors – it was hotter, the toddlers didn’t let me have a full night’s sleep all week, etc.
    I tried to get into Dexter late in the game, but it was too dark for me. Ya know, all the murder and stuff. But we did get into How I Met Your Mother late, but caught up with DVD’s and followed thru to the finish! Sorry, I wrote a lot of words.

    • Hahahaha no apologies necessary, I enjoyed all the words 😉 I LOVE Dexter and watched it from the start but there are so many popular shows that I could never really get into (confession: every time I try to watch Mad Men, it puts me to sleep). Lame about your 400s though! I think some days you just can’t account for how badly a run goes but the gigantic confidence bummer always freaks me out for the next couple workouts.

  15. Welcome to the Breaking Badathon! It will totally replace your desire to run the marathon! Just kidding I really wanted to rhyme. If you haven’t already started, you can get into Game of Thrones next. That is equally addicting. 🙂

    • Haha I kind of really really hate Game of Thrones unfortunately. I watched the first season but could never get into it. My husband still watches it and I just leave the room 😦 We are in season 4 of BB now though…ugggggh we’re addicted haha.

  16. Last movie I saw in a theater was Pompeii, I think.
    DH and I discovered the show FIREFLY long after it was off air and loved it. We have it on DVD now. We also got in to Game of Thrones after season one was over.
    My favorite healthy dinner is Greek chicken and rice with roasted veggies and hummus on the side for dipping all of it.

Leave a Reply

