Austria-Day 1

Greetings from Austria!  Yesterday went by really quickly once all the travel nonsense got finished.  After the plane and the nearly 2 hour drive to the hotel, we had a walk around the tiny town while we waited for our room.  It was small but very cute:

Image

Image

The town is so small that after about 20 minutes there was nowhere new to walk so we decided to try our first Austrian beer to kill the last half hour before we could check in.  Spoiler alert…it took me way more than half an hour to finish that thing.

Austria4.JPG

we entertained ourselves taking goofy photos and sending them to friends back home who were just arriving at work.

Austria1.JPG

Austria2.JPG

Austria3.JPG

When we finally finished and got our room, we took a little nap for an hour and then got ready for dinner.  Food is going to be one of my favorite things on this trip because I speak zero German and have no idea what any menus say, I just have to receive the food and try it.  Our trip includes a 4-6 course dinner each night so we don’t have to worry about anything except going downstairs and sitting down and just enjoying.  I forgot to take a picture of my mozzarella and tomato salad last night but here was the rest of the meal:

 

Food1.JPGFood2.JPGFood3.JPG

Today I’m going for a short run around town and then we are going to hike up the mountain directly behind our hotel.  We are surrounded on all sides by mountains so we are going to just keep tackling different ones each day.

 

Have you climbed a mountain before? Which one?

 Ever had to eat food and have no idea what it was? Did you like it? 

 

50 thoughts on “Austria-Day 1

  1. Looks beautiful! I’m having the same problem with the menus here in Bavaria. Luckily we don’t go out to eat too often, but we were looking at menus for restaurants for our anniversary this weekend and it was kind of pointless. Enjoy the beer, I’m cheers-ing you from across the border!

  2. What a beautiful little town! I can’t wait to hear more about your experience there, I pretty much intend to experience it vicariously through you 😉

  3. I’m sooo jealous! That beer was ginormous, it would have taken me way longer than 30 min to drink as well and I probably wouldn’t be able to walk after..lol…

    I constantly eat food without knowing what it is…EXCEPT meats… I do NOT and will NOT eat questionable meat… I’m not that adventurous..lol… have fun! I can’t wait to see more pics!

    • Haha well the meat isn’t very unknown here, we can tell pretty quickly if it’s beef or pork or chicken or whatnot but I’d be much more skeptical in China or something where meat choices could be very different. I’ve got a decent amount of experience with weird meats though…I’ve eaten emu, kudu, alligator and lots of others!

  4. What a cute little town…and an ENORMOUS beer! Those look bigger than your heads! I took German for 5 years in school so I might be well equipped enough to order food (or at least read a menu over there). The only places I’ve ever tried something with really no idea what it was was a sushi restaurant. Sometimes I would rather someone just not tell me what something is.

    I’ve been hiking in all kinds of mountains in California and camping in the Rockies, but I’m sure nothing like what you are seeing over there! I am so jealous of this trip! (And that food looks delicious!)

    • Why are you all the way in Baltimore?! Come translate for me! I think being surprised sometimes can be really fun 🙂 a bunch of the weirder foods I’ve tried I didn’t know what I was eating until after.

  5. What great pictures! It looks so beautiful there and the beers are the perfect size. I have eaten something I didn’t know what it was and when I backpacked Southeast Asia it was a game my friend and I played. We would eat anything we didn’t recognize 🙂

  6. It looks so pretty! Can’t wait to see pictures from the hikes. Colin and I uses to hoke a lot in South Africa, but not much hiking going on in south Georgia. When I studied abroad in Germany I ate several things that I didn’t know what they were, even after eating them I was unsure of some stuff!!

  7. So awesome!!! I am jeally.
    OH yes, we’ve eaten stuff we didn’t know what we were ordering – most notably in Italy – but everything was delish everywhere, so it didn’t matter – just point at something on the menu. Strangely, another stand out was in San Fran – chinatown joint that the waiter didn’t like what we ordered, so he decided to bring us something else. hahaha!

    • Oh my gosh that’s hilarious that your waiter did that! There is literally no way you can go wrong in Italy though, even though I knew what everything was I’d sometimes just ask the waiters there to surprise me.

  8. You’re hilarious, guys! I’d probably hate you just a tiny bit if you sent me a picture of you having fun just as I was heading out the door for work LOL! Have I ever climbed the mountain? Ummm… does a hike count? Then, Montagne Noir here in Quebec. Oh , and that mountain that I climbed 5 or 6 times during the Spartan Race, but to be honest, at that moment I didn’t care what was its name lol!!! xoxo

    • Which restaurant?! I got some crazy delicious food in Russia but I have no idea what any of it was. P.S. maybe we need to pick a crazy cuisine and have a blogger date later this summer…we can be adventurous!

  9. What a cute town! I’m so jealous – your Instagram pics look amazing! The Alps are so pretty. When we were in Thailand many years ago we ate random things at a night market. We decided to just call it mystery meat and not think about it too much. Love your giant steins! Have fun!

    • Ok THAT sounds scary…mystery meat at a night market kind of sounds like a nightmare to me but I also kind of love how you have to have those kinds of experiences while traveling and just go along with it, so many great surprises for me have come from things I wouldn’t have ordered if I knew what it was!

  10. Living in Switzerland I have climbed quite a few mountains but I gotta admire your food enthusiasm. I’ve always been a bit fussy with food which, sad as it is, has kept me from travelling to certain places in the world. The only time I ate something I didn’t know what it was turned out to be soap in a scouts camp as a kid.

  11. You two are adorable. Ahhh, what an amazing place. You have inspired me to make an Austria board on Pinterest! I have always wanted to go there, but your IG pics are just amazing. Enjoy your time!!

  12. OMG soooo excited for you 2!! Austria looks amazing from your photos and from what I remember (I’ve only passed through on a train)!! You guys are adorable! OMG eating mysterious food is actually a fear of mine haha. I mean, when chicken with skin freaks me out, eating random foods would give me a heart attack. I would try any veggies though 😉

Leave a Reply

